‘Enter to Change the Cycle of History’ are the words written on the concrete before you enter the virtual art gallery. From the entrance of the exhibit, you see a clenched fist sculpture located at the center, symbolizing our fight for justice and commemorating George Floyd, a man raised right here in Houston. In curating this work, we pay tribute to the countless Black brothers and sisters we’ve lost to police brutality and invite you to share this space in thoughtful reflection.

Darkness evokes feelings of distress, danger, and defenselessness. Yet, the brightest light is found in the darkest places. The natural light that glows into the space from the skylight above will guide you through the gallery. We want the light to be your direction and allow you to experience it in a counterclockwise path, changing the cycle of history. Let yourself experience the emotions of artists around the world and hear their voices from their artistic renderings.

The entry of the gallery is embraced in a rough, rocky formation, representing the chaotic time in which we currently find ourselves. The trees at the end of the hallway symbolize life and hope that still exists during these tumultuous times. The art on the walls is our voices to honor George Floyd and stand in solidarity with the Black Lives Matter Movement. At the end of your journey, you will exit the museum through a more orderly smooth exit, symbolizing our hope for the future.

We thank all the following individuals and Institutions for their generous contributions:

Afshi Charania
Faisal Charania
Kristin Frentzel 
Judge KP George 
Sri Preston Kulkarni 
Padma Maitland 
Brandon Weiss
John White 
Anne Burton
Kali Shiller
Nichole Lum

Delilah Agho-Otoghile
Neel Gonuguntla
Dexter McCoy 
Hannah Michael
Cristina Toppin
Nathan Truong

California Polytechnic State University,
Center for Expressive Technologies

Debbie Alfred
Mehul Bhagat
Kelsey Donohue
Dan Gordon
Zaibab Khuwaja-Ali
Sultana Mangalji
Fahad Punjwani
Taral Patel
Eva Heinstein

Music credit: Black Lives Matter Beat produced by FANA



Music Credits:

When the Revolution Comes by The Last Poets

Freedom by Various Artists

Glory by Common & John Legend

Rise Up by Andra Day

Stand up Something by Andra Day

Fight the Power by Public Enemy

Black Rage by Lauryn Hill

Changes by Tupac

I can by Nas

Fabulous by Jaheim (particularly the end)

A change is gonna come by Sam Cooke

Say it Loud – Im Black and Im Proud by James Brown

Oh Freedom by the Golden Gospel Singers

I’ll take you there by the Staple Singers

Love and Happiness by Al Green

What’s going on by Marvin Gaye

Stand by Me by Ben E King

Lean on Me by Bill Withers

Get Up, Stand Up by Bob Marley and Peter Tosh

This is America by Childish Gambino

We the People by A Tribe Called Quest